What are the 11 sub cities of Addis Ababa?

Addis Ababa is the Capital city of Ethiopia (The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia). The is divided into several sub-cities, each with its own distinct character and administrative functions. Here are the list of Addis Ababa’s 11 sub cities as of April 2024.

  1. Addis Ketema sub city — Addis Ketema sub-city encompasses notable areas such as Merkato and Abinet.
  2. Akaki Kaliti sub city — Residential area with parks and growing commercial developments.
  3. Arada Sub city – Arada is one of the oldest sub cities in Addis Ababa, known for its bustling markets, historical sites, and vibrant cultural scene. The most notable names are Piassa, 4kilo, 6kilo, Afincho ber and the likes.
  4. Bole Sub city — Modern hub known for its airport and vibrant nightlife.
  5. Gullele Sub city —
  6. Kirkos Sub city — Kirkos sub-city is home to many government offices, embassies, and international organizations. It also features upscale residential areas and recreational facilities.
  7. Kolfe Keranio Sub city — This sub-city is primarily residential and industrial, with a mix of low-income housing and manufacturing zones.
  8. Lideta Sub city — Lideta is a busy commercial and residential area in central Addis Ababa, known for its markets, shopping centers, and entertainment venues.
  9. Nifas Silk Lafto Sub city — Nifas Silk-Lafto is one of the largest sub-cities in Addis Ababa, characterized by its mix of residential, commercial, and industrial areas.
  10. Yeka Sub city — Yeka is a rapidly growing sub-city in Addis Ababa, known for its modern residential developments, shopping malls, and educational institutions.
  11. Lemi Kura Sub city — Is a relatively new sub city formed from Yeka and Bole.

Facts about Addis Ababa City:

  • Capital: Political, economic, cultural center; Ethiopia’s seat of government.
  • Altitude: High altitude, 2,400 meters; among world’s highest capitals.
  • Founded: Emperor Menelik II, 1886; relatively young compared to others.
  • Diversity: Harmonious mix of ethnicities, cultures; cultural melting pot.
  • AU Headquarters: African Union base; symbolizes continental diplomacy and unity.
  • UN Offices: Hosts UNECA HQ; key international organizations represented.
  • Language: Official Amharic; Afaan Oromoo widely spoken; diverse linguistic landscape.
  • Transportation: Bole Airport hub; vital air travel gateway in Africa.
  • National Museum: Exhibits Lucy fossil; repository of Ethiopia’s archaeological heritage.
  • Green Spaces: Parks, gardens; Entoto Natural Park, National Botanic Garden, Unity Park, Friendship park.
  • Parking: Meskel square =1500, 4kilo=800, Abrehot 140, CBE headquarters =2500 lots.
  • Mayor: Adanech Abebe as of April 2024

Written by Editor


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Alibaba Cloud Professional ACP-Cloud1 Real Exam Questions 2024

Parking Spaces in Addis Ababa